Sandhurst logo.jpg

A brief history

Sandhurst Silver was started in 1908 by the Coombs family of Albion Road and has been an integral part of the local community ever since. The band has been competing regularly since the 1920s, with highlights such as qualifying for the National Finals 5 years running between 2001 and 2005, being promoted to the Championship Section this year and winning the Butlins Mineworkers Festival First Section in 2014.


The current band room was built by band members in 1958 in Brookside where the band still practices today.


Our aims

We aim to maintain, improve and advance the education of the public through the promotion and practice of brass band music. This we do by providing facilities for existing players to rehearse and perform for the public and by entering competitions which stimulate players to improve their musical standards.

sandhurst banner.jpg

Current Band Members


David Johnson  (Professional)

Russell Young  (Resident)


Mark Dallas

Steve Clapton

Madisyn Cave

Bryan Herman

David Beck

Damon Emes

Elliott Galvin

Francis Vary

Janatha Yarham


Chris Hill

Antony Steven

Sue Cave

Fiona McDonald

Euphoniums and Baritones

John Storey

Ian Dewhurst

Sue Fowler

Graham McKillop


Thomas Ireland

Chris Urwin

Mark Lazenbury


James Lackovic

Pat Donovan

Sam Holmes

Steve Atherton


Nick Cornock

Rachael Cross

fountain city.jpg